Six Shatkarmas

The six shatkarmas are:
1. Neti: A process of cleansing and purifying the nasal passages. Practices included in this category are: jala neti and sutra neti.
2. Dhauti: A series of cleansing techniques which are divided into three main groups:
antar dhauti or internal cleansing,sirsha dhauti or head cleansing (traditionally called danta dhauti), and hrid dhauti or thoracic cleansing. The internal techniques clean the entire alimentary canal from the mouth to the anus. They are divided into four practices:
a) Shankhaprakshalana and laghoo shankhaprakshalana: cleansing of the intestines;
b) Agnisar kriya: activating the digestive fire;
c) Kunjal or vaman dhauti: cleansing the stomach with water
d) Vatsara dhauti, cleansing the intestines with air.
3. Nauli: A method of massaging and strengthening the abdominal organs.
4. Basti: Techniques for washing and toning the large intestine.
5. Kapalbhati: A breathing technique for purifying the frontal region of the brain.
6. Trataka: The practice of intense gazing at one point or object which develops the power of concentration

Dr.Mahesh Chandra Panda, M.B.B.S., M.D.

Yoga practitioner, Dhrti Yoga

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Open chat
Need help?
Dhrti Yoga
Hari Om. Please leave us a message and we will get back to you shortly.