Purification Yoga

Purification Yoga is Dhrti’s value added service.

Known as Shatkarmas in yogic language, is a set of cleansing practice for your total wellbeing.

These yogic kriyas are integral part of yoga. One needs to learn these kriyas under the guidance of an expert only.

At Dhrti, Yogic Kriyas are part of regular yoga.  Many practitioners who are keen to discover more about themselves have had profound experiences.

Detoxification not only restores youthfulness, it builds self confidence and strengthens the will power.

Out of Six Yogic Kriyas, Kapalbhati-forehead brightener is very commonly known to many.

Trataka or Constant Gaze (e.g. candle flame) is another shatkarma.  It is an excellent practice to remove tiredness and improve the eyesight.  The best way to begin with meditation as Dharna-one pointed awareness is the key factor in trataka; thus improves concentration and focusing levels.

Water has the miracle to cure all the ailments; it’s the basis of human life.  Take a simple HIP BATH therapy for 10 days and it relieves you from all the cramps and pains during menstrual cycle, correcting women’s health.

Jala Neti and Kunjal kriya is intake of warm saline water which removes the congestion in nose, throat, and chest.  Concerns like constant runny nose, sinusitis, breathing difficulties are taken care of with this simple practice.  The toxins in the upper gastrointestinal tract alleviate acidity.

Other techniques like lagoo or TTK solution clears the lower gastrointestinal tract correcting IBS, constipation, worms, and excellent for weight loss. These are also explain earlier.

Would post more about shatkarmas later….For now experience the fresh air and line of new energy in the body through these simple Detox methods.

Hari OM

1 Comment

  • Dr.Mahesh Chandra Panda,M.B.B.S.,M.D.Yoga practitioner Dhrti Yoga

    June 29, 2010 @ 11:42 pm

    The six shatkarmas are:
    1. Neti: A process of cleansing and purifying the nasal passages. Practices included in this category are: jala neti and sutra neti.
    2. Dhauti: A series of cleansing techniques which are divided into three main groups:
    antar dhauti or internal cleansing,sirsha dhauti or head cleansing (traditionally called danta dhauti), and hrid dhauti or thoracic cleansing. The internal techniques clean the entire alimentary canal from the mouth to the anus. They are divided into four practices:
    a) Shankhaprakshalana and laghoo shankhaprakshalana: cleansing of the intestines;
    b) Agnisar kriya: activating the digestive fire;
    c) Kunjal or vaman dhauti: cleansing the stomach with water
    d) Vatsara dhauti, cleansing the intestines with air.
    3. Nauli: A method of massaging and strengthening the abdominal organs.
    4. Basti: Techniques for washing and toning the large intestine.
    5. Kapalbhati: A breathing technique for purifying the frontal region of the brain.
    6. Trataka: The practice of intense gazing at one point or object which develops the power of concentration.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *