Paths of Yoga

To understand how transformation takes place through yoga, we need to understand which path to approach as different people in society have different needs.

1.       The path of action – Karma Yoga

2.       The path of worship – Bhakti Yoga

3.       The path of freeing the mind through sound vibration – Mantra Yoga

4.       The path of phiolosophy – Jnana Yoga

5.       The path of conscious dissolution of individuality – Laya Yoga

6.       The path of physical and mental purity – Hatha Yoga

7.       The path of culturing the mind – Raja Yoga

Raja Yoga is based on Ashtanga Yoga of the Patanjali’s Yoga System, Ashtanga: The

Eight Limbed Yoga

1.       Yama – The yogic self control or external disciplines

2.       Niyama – Sense of discipline in ones inner life

3.       Asana – The posture of the body

4.       Pranayama – The regulation of prana, the vital force

5.       Pratyahara – Withdrawing the senses

6.       Dharna – Focusing the mind

7.       Dhyana – Defocusing the mind

8.       Samadhi – State of super consciousness

The first four limbs are Bahiranga or external stages. External because they change and alter our external personality, behavior, action.

The last three limbs are Antaranga or internal stages. Internal because it is suppose to work with mind. It is a mental process.

Whichever path you choose, regularity, sincerity, long time practice is a key to success.

Just as we find time to do things that are considered necessary in our life, same manner we must have time to be regular in our yoga practice.

Hari OM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Open chat
Need help?
Dhrti Yoga
Hari Om. Please leave us a message and we will get back to you shortly.